Upanishad Course – Chapter 14  (Contd) -

Upanishad Course – Chapter 14  (Contd)

Upanishad Course – Chapter 14 (Contd)

Week 28

When we think of Purusha, we think of a man or a human. Built into both there is ego. With ego there is separation, distortion and arrogance. 

Acknowledging this, our Veda is ‘Apourusheya’ (not by a Purusha). The insights of the Veda have not been facilitated by a man/human/one with ego, distortion and arrogance. 

The Veda may be the only facet of creation that is Apourusheya and hence is known as ‘Narayana Vakya’. These are the words of Bhagavan. 

Everything we see is created by human, the only facet that is not is nature, but even that is constantly being processed by human. 

This sharing is faith-based and is impossible to prove this. If we need proof of this then we will always be disappointed. 

If we have the faith in what is being shared, then we should ‘listen’, this is why the Veda is also known as ‘Shruti’ (that which is being heard, that which is to be listened to). 

The Mantras that we learned in this course are the words of the same Bhagavan Krishna who is teaching Bhagavad Gita. We should feel that and see how it transforms us!

The purpose/trajectory of every facet of Sanatana Dharma is Nirguna. The purpose of Puja and trajectory of contemplation is Nirguna (without qualities). 

Guna also means rope, so Nirguna means without ropes or without limits. All of the Dharma is for Sanatana (infinitude). 

Now that the purpose and trajectory is clear, there has to be a path. This is Saguna (with qualities). The infinite with qualities is Bhagavan. Our Sathguru is one with positive qualities (virtues). 

Purpose of Saguna is Nirguna. “Aum” is a pure expression of this. “Aum” is a sound and it automatically implies that there are limits or gunas. 

But this sound is to lead us to silence (limitless and without gunas). Silence does not depend on sound, but sound depends on silence. Silence is a substratum for sound. 

Recap: The Mantra we reviewed last week is from the Mundaka Upanishad (2nd Mundaka, 2nd Khanda 4th mantra, 2:2:4)

PranavaH dhanuH – The bow is Aum

SharaH hi Atma – Arrow is indeed the Atma (here, Atma means Jiva/ego)

Brahma tat Lakshyam uchyate – what is taught is the mark/aspiration is Brahma (infinity)

Ego is to use ‘Aum’ to travel to Brahma. 

Apramattena veddhavyam – This is to be hit/known, without distraction (whole heartedly, completely, sincerely) 

Sharavat tat mayaH bhavet – The arrow or Jiva will be filled with divinity

The micro (Jiva), when it unites with the macro (Jagadeeswara), what remains is only Brahma.

Difference between Jiva and Jagadeeswara is only in terms of diversity, no difference in terms of depth. 

If we go deep into JIva or deep into Jagadeeswara, what we will find is the same infinity. They are different on the surface but at the depth they are not! 

This lesson is on Aum or Dhyana. The subject shared is ‘Aum’ because that is what we need to contemplate on. 

Our Rishis and Pujya Swami Tejomayananda are giving us more and more of the subject (Vishaya) for us to contemplate on. ‘Aum’ is like a zip file which is so dense ! 

This Class: 

We can visualize a chart with “A”   “U”   “M”   “~” 

(~ represents what is transcendental)

Here is what “Aum” implies, a framework from most abstract to most tactile:

  • A is symbolic of Anda (Brahmanda, Anda means egg) , U is the garbha (often described as Hiranyagarbha, this is the womb), M is the kshetra (field). That which transcends AUM, or the amaatra (silence) is Atma (spirit). Spirit expresses in the field, in the field there is a womb and in the womb there is an egg. 
  • A symbolizes Virat (macro body), U is Hiranya (macro mind), M is Ishwara (macro ego) and beyond that is Brahman. First we have to feel we are everybody’s body, then more sensitive we have to feel we are everybody’s mind, then more sensitive if we are everyone’s ego then we cannot be egotistical! Beyond this is Brahman. 
  • A is JivaU is Jagat and M is Jagadeeswara. Beyond Jagadeeswara is Joy. Jiva is micro elements, Jagat is macro elements , Jagadeeswara is the source of those elements and Joy is existence. 
  • is Vishwa (complete, we feel most complete in the waking state), U is Taijasa (half-complete, in the dream state), M is Praajna (least complete, but there is still a sense of prajna or knowing, sleep-state). Beyond this is Turiya. Turiya is the fourth state.
  • is the gross bodyU is the subtle bodyM is the causal body and beyond that is Absolute. Gross, subtle and causal are all relative, while beyond that is Absolute.
  • A is this bodyU is the mindM is the ego and beyond that is the Spirit

If we reflect on this with our eyes open, we will see many connections. 

If we contemplate on this, we will feel those connections. 

The whole vision of Aum, when we move from “A” to “beyond” we are moving from individuality to infinity. 

Mandukya Upanishad has only 12 mantras and the following is the last mantra. 

Amatra – means beyond measurement (immeasurable)

ChaturtaH – means the fourth. This refers to the fourth state Turiya.

But there is no fourth state, there is only oneness. 

There is only awareness. The idea of sleeping, dreaming and waking is only for the ego and not awareness. 

AvyavahaaryaH – means not related to worldliness. 

Prapancha upashamaH – when creation becomes very calm, which means the gunas have gone into balance, that is there is no creation (no Maya). 

ShivaH – auspicious, egoless.

AdvaitaH – oneness

Evam Omkara – This sound of ‘Aum’ will lead one to all that is described above. 

Om Atma Eva – We will feel this as ourself 

Samvishaty – to merge

Atmana Atmanam – When the ego uses Aum , then the ego will merge with Atma

YaH evam Veda – The one who is experiencing this knows the Veda

The heart of Srimad Bhagavatam is the 10th section , the breath of this heart is a series of 5 chapters. 

The udaana shakti (power of the breath of the heart) is the chapter on Rasa Leela, it is an experience of enlightenment. 

This is like Vishnu Sahasranama, where  Acharya Bhishma saw Vishnu everywhere he looked. 

When one is contemplating on enlightenment and the visual is the Rasa Leela, we begin by seeing “Gopi-Krishna-Gopi”, in terms of the Upanishad, “Aum-Silence-Aum”. When we merge more, it changes to “Krishna-Gopi-Krishna” – “Silence-Aum-Silence”. When that is complete, there are no Gopis, there is only Krishna. There is no more Aum, there is only Silence! 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

About Chinmaya Mission

The Chinmaya Mission Northwest Indiana Center was established in 2002. It has now evolved into an organization serving the entire Indian community in Northwest Indiana. Chinmaya Mission is an excellent opportunity for spiritual learning.

Contact Info

"Chinmaya Omkara", 8705 Merrillville Road, IN 46410

219-513-8647, 219-730-8276

All Right Reserved Copyright © 2022. Powered By Arrow Marketing 360